Let’s start this bookish blog with my favorite YouTube video.

Scene: A frustrated reader who is used to reading scrolls (and doesn’t want to change) is too impatient to figure out how to read the first book. Medieval Help Desk to the rescue!

Fast forward to today: A frustrated reader who is used to reading print books (and doesn’t want to change) is too impatient to figure out how to use an eReader.

Technology may change. Human nature will not. I was that reader in the second scenario and swore I would never read digital books, but then when I got over my black-and-white thinking and realized that I could enjoy both pBooks and eBooks in my life, well, I got it. This new technology will not Make Print Books Obsolete or even Take My Job as a Print Designer Away or [insert Big ePrediction of The Day here]. It’s simply another tool that connects readers to books. The container may be more flexible than ever these days, but books will still remain.

A finely-crafted eBook has its own appeal and once I found an eReader I was comfortable with, I found that I can even enjoy reading one. Once I figured out how to open the eBook, that is.